The golden hat-trick for Team USA!

17.07.2010 | Tomas Pavlicek

The Americans won the final of World championship against Team Switzerland with clear result 6:1 and they earned 3rd straight gold medal. Team USA reigned in Düseldorf 2008, Varesa 2009 and now it completed the golden hat-trick in Beroun. In the final game the favorite took a lead very quickly and unlike the opponent converted its opportunities. Pete Messina became the main star of the game when he scored twice and added two assists.

Game 8   •   F   •   Sa 17.7.2010   •   20:00   •   Schedule and results
Switzerland 1:6USA
(0:2, 1:4, 0:0)
Shocker - Diener, Hirt, Brauchli, Ackermann, Rubin, Bill, Ganz, Ulrich J., Mausli, Reber, Schwarzenbach, Walker, Ulrich M. Urbano - Thompson, Mosenson, Keene, Spain, Sgrillo, Fudge, Laricchia, Cadiz, Roux, Redstreake, Messina, Bond
Goals and assists: 31. Walker (Hirt) - 2. Redstreake (Thompson), 12. Mosenson (Messina), 25. Messina (Roux), 29. Roux (Laricchia), 36. Messina (Fudge), 37. Thompson (Messina)
Shots: 13:31 (0:0, 0:0, 0:0). Penalties: 4:4, plus Bill 10 min.. PP goals: 0:1. SH goals: 0:0.
Referees: Mackinnon, Würtherle.
pdf Official game sheet (PDF)     video video


The final game started with the rocket enter of the American team. In 2nd minute Team USA beat the defence and Jimmy Redstreake ended into the open net. But then the game was not clear at all. The Swiss threated very often and they created a lot of opportunities to score. But they totally failed. Mäusli stroke the cross bar and a little while after the same player did not manage to move the puck over the goal line against open net.

The Americans controled the puck more time and in 12nd minute Jonathan Mosenson added second goal after terrific combination. Another chances were made by Team Switzerland but the players were in front of the goal helpless. The best scorer of the team Schwarzenbach misses the goal and in the end of first half Remo Hirt hit the cross bar again!

"When you look at the score it is right that Team USA was better tema today. When we allowed two goals, it was too tough to return to the game. We misses a little luck, we stroke the goal post three times. Then I would like to thank all organisaters for their good work," said the captain of Team Switzerland Michael Diener.

In the second half Team USA decided the game very soon. After nice attempts by Thompson, Cadiz, Laricchia and Roux it was scored by Messina who stood at the end of nice interplay. In the another power play Roux increased the difference to 4:0 and the Swiss hopes for gold were destroyed. In 31st Julian Walker scored first Swiss goal but unstoppable Messina with his second goal decimated the opponent.

Four minutes before the end Messina sended the puck to Thompson and the American captain symbolically closed the game with sixth goal. So Team USA became the 2010 FIRS In-line Hockey World Champion!

Author: Tomas Pavlicek


Charlie Thuss (Team USA coach): It is fantastic. We came here with a mission to bring home gold medals. We know that we have a really good team but to be the Nr. 1 Team in world, is really fantastic. Switzerland played a big game, their goalie was perfect. It is amazing that we beat so good team and win gold.

Christian Wittwer (Team Switzerland coach): We are totally satisfied with the 2nd spot. We have never saidthat we came for gold medals. We have young players and most of them played at the championship first time.

Show photogallery

10.8. |
Do you like to bet on the game that is already in play? The betting office Bet365 has the biggest offer of live bets on the internet! Find out yourself.

The best informations about Bwin.comall in one place.

Enter the world of the quickly growing family of the company Bet-at-home and experience the joy of winning right from the comfort of your own house.

Rich offer of betting opportunities and attractive odds – that is DOXXbet.


18.7. | Closing ceremony
We have added some photos from the medal and closing ceremony.


17.7. | All Stars team
Michael Urbano (USA) - Julien Walker (SUI), Karel Rachunek (CZE), Travis Fudge (USA), Brian Baxter (MEX).


17.7. | Individual awards
MVP: Travis Fudge (USA), Best goalkeeper: Michael Urbano (USA), Best defender: Karel Rachunek (CZE), Best forward: Diego Schwarzenbach (SUI), Fair play award: Team Spain.

Copyright © 2009-2010  &, s.r.o. | Informace o autorských právech a kontakt